Ribbons of flesh

I've wanted to get a good look at this for a very long time. When the antlers become fully grown the velvety skin and flesh need to be removed to expose the razor sharp bone ready for the rut. I headed out at 5am as the sky looked promising did my usual crawling about. I got some nice wide stuff but then heard some loud crashing in the undergrowth.I traced it to this stag using a hawthorn tree with its sharp super hard spikes to slash away the bleeding skin.
Aint nature wonderful (Trapdoor quote :)
Follows on nicely from the one of the magpie picking at the bleeding stump.
Other images

Thanks to everyone who voted on the Nat Geo Daily Dozen comp. I'm sorry to say I came in second. All your efforts were really appreciated! Here's the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.