Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

First day of AFL

Interesting day today. To start with the latter half: I went home early, because of what I think is a second lurgi which has come at the tail end of the first one. Everyone at work has been going off sick, so it's probably no surprise. Anyway, when I got home my wife reminded me it was the kids' first afternoon of AFL, so I ended up with more than a few pictures - mostly with my Lumix (because telephoto), but with a mahoosive crop though, I got a couple with my Pentax and 28mm lens that amuse me, with my daughter making a break for it (and my son almost bending over backwards behind her, stopping), and at the other side of the field still pacing the taller and older boy beside her.

There are a bunch of pics on Flickr. My choice for the day is this of Missy-moo, which seems to encapsulate the enjoyment.

Click to enthugbynate.

Earlier in the afternoon, but still after I got home, I took this of our cat lazing about. This is just the jpg the camera gave me; I didn't see any need for further or different development or processing.

Earlier earlier, while at Nepean Hospital, I got first this view upward, and then with maHOOsive cropping, a lorikeet. With a 28mm lens.

That also shows the result of some Darktable use. After a few more basic adjustments, I set about using the Man from Msrs Method, as described by Dan Margulis. Result? Blue of the sky deepened, red of the lorikeet popped up more, as did its yellows and yellowy-green, and the foliage didn't change much. Winning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.