Quiet Now

The Soldier

IF I should die, think only this of me;
That there's some corner of a foreign field
That is for ever England. There shall be
In that rich earth a richer dust concealed;
A dust whom England bore, shaped, made aware,
Gave, once, her flowers to love, her ways to roam,
A body of England's breathing English air,
Washed by the rivers, blest by suns of home.

And think, this heart, all evil shed away,
A pulse in the eternal mind, no less
Gives somewhere back the thoughts by England given;
Her sights and sounds; dreams happy as her day;
And laughter, learnt of friends; and gentleness,
In hearts at peace, under an English heaven.

- Rupert Brooke. 1887–1915


Today I sent the donation on behalf of my Dad to the British Legion's 'Every Man Remembered' campaign and then sent one of my own for a local soldier who died in 1916, but on the same day and month as we lost Mum in 2006 and whose initials and surname are the same as my Dad. This was before my niece and nephew came to play by watering the garden and other fun stuff and then we happy three went to Asda - for some reason, Maddy likes going shopping with me. She is always in charge of the trolley! Late afternoon I went to the hospice and stayed with Dad until about 7.30. He was mostly asleep and very, very quiet.


Chantler63 August Challenge of textures on Tuesday, yet another image from the Hospice gardens this afternoon.



Ale in England #36 Cumberland (Jennings Brewery) Alc.4.7% Vol.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.