The Sheriff

Having listened on Tuesday to cousin Dorothy's amazing top of the range fashion purchases in TKMaxx, His Lordship and I, who don't have the gift of being able to sort out the diamonds from the dross in that shop, nevertheless thought we would try again at the shop at Straiton.

It was blissfully empty and I could have spent hours rummaging, but nature called to HL and with no little boys room, we went next door to MacDonalds for a coffee- a bit of a come down from our usual haunts, with not a scone in sight, but with welcome facilities.

This kenspeckle character sat near us and I plucked up courage to ask if I could take his photograph. Having asked him if he had been to America, he told me he had visited 97 countries and was indeed the self styled sheriff of Midlothian in Illinois. ( There is such a place, I've checked!)
He also said he had a paper title of mayor of a town in Texas.

You never meet characters like this in John Lewis.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.