The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Suburbia

I've been watching this house down the road with interest. First of all, it was replastered. The bird of paradise tree in the front garden and the flowers were cut down; the fence removed, and then the ground was laid to lawn and gravel (for off street parking). The whole property is more open-looking now.

Most of the work was done by a slightly built woman in shorts and a bikini top, driving a JCB, during the recent hot weather. It hasn't taken long: 10 weeks maybe, since the plastering started.

Can't say I love the final result, but it's a hell of a lot neater than the mess in our front garden! This one is unusual in that it appears to be level. That's a rarity on our street.

It was another lovely day, but I stayed in, tidied my desk and caught up with stuff that had been mounting up while I was on holiday. I also accidentally re-invented the Filofax* Told you I was a genius! At some point I realised that I actually have an old Filofax, so now I just need to make the diary inserts, not!

I'm saving my energy for going climbing tonight: it has been far too long since the last time.

*For those readers under twenty-five, a Filofax is/was a luxury brand of paper-based personal organisers, with customisable options. You can, to this day, still pay £7.00 for an insert pack of street maps of London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.