Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Terminator!

I thought I'd blip another hummingbird today, but the macro lens was calling me so I headed out into the garden for a little macro-safari late this afternoon. I was rewarded with this tiny little guy - the Sycamore Assassin Bug (Pselliopus barbern). He's about 1/3 of an inch long, but is a very fearsome hunter. I've watched these guys slowly stalk their prey, moving with such stealth and purpose. They move so very slowly, so as not to spook their prey, I suppose ... and then - WHAM! - they pounce, and inject their toxin into their unsuspecting victim. Sounds brutal, but these are actually very desirable bugs to have in your garden. Just don't try picking them up, because I'm told their bite is quite painful. Anyway, not the best macro, but I like it so I'm going with it. My runner up was a beautiful Scarlett and Green Leafhopper.

And I've posted four other shots - starting HERE on Flickr - two hummers, a wren with breakfast and a bumble bee.

Had a call with my favorite client today which always makes me feel happy. Plus I finally reached the cable/internet company again and have them scheduled to hook up service in the townhouse this Saturday (Hubs is going to be very happy!) I also ordred two barstools for the townhouse, and had the second moving company come to give me an estimate. I'll review both estimates and make a decision within the next week so I can get the date locked in. Progress!

Thanks for all your lovely comments, hearts and stars on my titmouse youngster yesterday! They were all back periodically throughout the day today. No sign of the parents - they are probably having a much needed vacation away from loud brood of demanding kids!

Tomorrow is Friday ... and only 8 more sleeps until I fly down to FL again!

Cheers, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.