I should get up early more often; as has been said many times before, there's something magical about the world before everyone's woken up. Mind you, it helps when it's the start of a bright, sunny day and the light is clear and coming from somewhere low in the sky.

I was outside Booths before it opened, enjoying the warmth from the sun and the cool breeze, looking out over Kirkby Lonsdale. Once the shop opened and I went inside, the staff was fresh-faced, cheery and chatty as I loaded my basket with eggs, bacon, sausages and black pudding.

I cut through the park on the way home, which looked pristine and ready for another day of entertaining Dan and all his friends. I, on the other hand, spent the day working from home, enjoying having all the windows wide open. That was after my full English breakfast, of course :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.