Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Wooden Clyde

It was reported in some newspapers on Friday morning that one of the 'Clyde' Commonwealth Games mascots had gone missing (presumed stolen!) and that others had become defaced. So soon after the Games, that was disappointing to say the least - although I don't know the extent of any vandalism that may have occurred.

The current plan had been to remove the statues after the Games - they were only meant to be temporary - and retain one or two as museum-pieces. There had been a public petition urging the city council to retain them, but the latest developments seem to have prompted their earlier removal and storage.

What did irritate me, however, was that the 'missing' Clyde was one that I didn't have in my photographic collection, so I guess I'll not complete the set now!

Spurred into action by this news, I took a bus into Glasgow and then down to Queen's Park to picture the wooden Clyde, which I imagine will remain extant but I reckoned I wouldn't take the chance of it being similarly defaced or damaged at some point.

So here he is, in all his wooden glory. Hopefully, a longer-lasting reminder of Commonwealth Games Glasgow 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.