PeterMay

By PeterMay

Lunch

Had lunch today with my French publisher (retired), Danielle Dastugue (right), her marketing executive, Michèle (left), and her granddaughter Mila. We meet up once a year for lunch and to celebrate our friendship and collaboration.

I was struggling to survive when Danielle bought my China series to translate and publish in France ten years ago. We met for lunch that day, too. I was a little awed by this legendary French publisher, originally from Paris, dressed all in black, and renowned for not suffering fools gladly. Plus, the entire conversation took place in French (I was still struggling to get by with my school French at that time). The books were a huge success in France, nominated for and winning awards.

But, then, the moment that changed my life - when I told Danielle about "The Blackhouse", how it had been rejected by every publisher in the UK and had been languishing in a drawer for three years. She wanted to read it, loved it and bought world rights. It became not only a massive success in France, but sold all over the world - and finally to the Brits.

Danielle is "the lady in black" in my song "Big Bad Wolf" who rescued me from the lost and found. I have enormous respect, affection and gratitude for this extraordinary lady.

Her granddaughter, Mila, is the daughter of my translator, Jean-René, who must also share some of the credit for the success of the books. Mila is an extraordinary young lady, destined I am sure for great things.

All in all, a great lunch, and I look forward to seeing all three again before yet another year passes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.