The start of a perfect day

We had such a memorable day on Campobello Island, New Brunswick today. The 50th Anniversary doings for the Roosevelt Campobello International Park exceeded every expectation I could imagine. Fifty years ago I was there with my family for the opening. We were on our annual two week vacation in Machiasport. My great Aunt Abbie went with us to Campobello Island for the grand opening, the first and only true International Park in the world.

There were many dignitaries there in 1964, including President Lyndon Baines Johnson & Lady Bird, Prime Minister Lester Pearson of Canada and his wife. Also there was my Great Grandfather and Aunt Abbie's friend, Senator Edmund Muskie. The International park was his 'baby' and the reception center is named in his honor. Abbie introduced us to Senator Muskie who got us a chance to shake the President Johnson's hand. That was a pretty big deal at 15 and the ceremony today was just as big for me. Intimate, moving, and classy. They asked anyone who was at the ceremony 50 years ago to stand. There were only a handful, all about my age. I felt so connected.

Floating around on that hallowed ground today were The Roosevelts, my parent's and Aunt Abbie, it was 1964 & 2014. The U.S. Navy Band, the Sea Chanters, brought me to tears once when memories came flashing back of folks long gone. I felt like I needed to pick up the telephone and tell my mother about the day. About Chandler Roosevelt Lindsley , the 80 year old granddaughter of Eleanor and Franklin who spoke from her heart about a summer with her grandmother at the cottage.

Senator Angus King, and Senator Tom Harken gave amazing speeches and we spoke with them personally at the end. Cupcakes, cake and iced tea on the side lawn finished the celebrations. We set out on a short a drive and a bit of a climb to The Head Harbour Lighthouse . A seafood dinner and a rainbow , finished the Campobello Island day before we crossed the bridge back to Lubec, USA.

For the Record,
This day came in sunny warm and perfectly splendid.

Inside the Roosevelt Cottage

RCMP Division J Pipes & Drums


Park History
All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.