On the Northern Side...

...there's a Fife of mine...

There's a game that was released for the Playstation many years ago. You might have heard of it, Grand Theft Auto San Andreas. It was developed by a Scottish company based in Edinburgh but was based in a mythical american city and let you road around the city exploring and carrying out missions. The game had a number of areas, separated by bridges and being a Scottish developer, they fashioned the main bridges in the game on the Forth Bridges. I remember I used to always work my way up to the top of the bridge where you could take in the view and also use the supplied parachute to base jump off it.

Today, I didn't get to base jump, but I did get to take in the view.

I've been awe struck by the Forth Bridges ever since I moved to within a couple of miles of them some 10 years ago. I cycle across this one every day I go to work and they still totally impress me as a feat of human ingenuity and engineering. This has long been a bucket list thing for me and it was as awesome in the true sense of the word as I imagined it would have been.

I took up my iPod and listened to Floating down the Forth as I took in a unique view that not too many other people will get to experience.

It was, very literally, breathtaking...



ps, You may get a better view if you look through the LARGE window...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.