A time for everything

By turnx3

Another prayer shawl

I was at church for Bible study this morning - today was a Beth Moore video. Then I went and did a little clothes shopping. I have lost about 18 lbs since Thanksgiving, and several of my pairs of pants are rather loose - especially my black dress pants. I'm reluctant to buy much, as I'm hoping to lose more weight, and hopefully drop another size, but whereas I can use a belt with my jeans and just put up with them being a bit baggy, my dress pants don't have belt loops. However, I'm struggling a bit with my weight loss at present - I seem to have reached a plateau, so we'll have to see how it goes. After shopping I went swimming, followed by a few relaxing minutes in the hot tub. This evening I was out at church again, before coming home to a bit of TV and more knitting.

The pattern on the prayer shawl is knit 3, purl 3 - the number 3 has quite a bit of symbolism.

In the Christian faith tradition, the number 3, symbolized by the Trinity (Creator, Redeemer, Sustainer), has come to mean wholeness. The 3 attributes of God are omniscience, omnipresence, and omnipotence. It is said that the number 3 is used 523 times in Scripture!

Many phases of life happen in combinations of three:
child/adult/senior
mother/father/child
past/present/future.
Some people believe in the combination of life/death/rebirth (meaning life after death).
There are 3 acts of existence - birth/life/death.

The concept of: Body/mind/ spirit
We have been encouraged to live and act in faith/hope/charity.
The combination of thought, word, and deed is the sum of the capability of humans.
The 3 types of matter are animal, vegetable, and mineral.

In general:

there are 3 primary colors with which it is possible to obtain all the colors;
the three divine principles: light, heat, and life;
the earth, sea, and sky of nature.

The 3-stitch seed pattern was selected as symbolic of planting peace, healing, love, comfort and hope into the shawls by the shawl maker for the receiver.

One year ago: Sunshine and shadows

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.