Figwort weevil

What a day!!! such awful weather.
I had to go Heathrow today to pick up Arab and Wills who were returning from the States!
All I wish to say is the M25 was absolutely awful, I had to go to Redhill to get on the motorway, as the roads were closed for a cycle race round Box Hill and Dorking, and between Jn 8 and Jn 14 was a non-stop traffic jam!
On the way back the motorway was better but the rain was horrendous!!!!
I was really glad to be home!
Today's offering is a tiny (4-5mm) Figwort weevil (Cionus scrophulariae).
Contrary to what the name suggests these tiny characters feed on other plant as well as Figwort, and the larvae can do a lot of damage, making them a bit of a pest in the garden. They are widespread in the south.
I like weevils, in general and I think these little weevils are especially cute, as they curl up and hide their nose if you disturb them.
I have to start blitzing my house tomorrow now my holiday is over, but hopefully I will find a small amount of time to go out Bliphunting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.