Nezara Viridula Nymphs

I found them clustered together in the raspberries this morning. Maybe a dozen in one spot, and nowhere else. Yet. Thank goodness. They are not known for their kindness to crops.

These are in the third instar, or stage of development, from egg to adult. Also known as Stink Bug, this creature passes through five instars, and its appearance changes drastically each time. Not as remarkable as a caterpillar/butterfly transformation, but these pests end up bright green with an orange border around the back of the shield. No wonder I didn't recognize them, even though I kept thinking they looked vaguely familiar. The good folks at Bug Guide put me straight in minutes.



For anyone who looked at yesterday's blip of the musical saw festival, I have added a short video. Just go back to yesterday's entry for the link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.