The Fringe Bride

As many of you will be aware I've been married to the Fringe festival of late. I have been to less shows this year than last, but this year I've been reviewing.

I've seen the festival in a whole new light and I've seen many shows that I would never have booked on my own. For that I'm eternally grateful - I've seen theatre that has moved me and challenged me - and the critical role has helped me make sense and appreciate what I'm watching even more. It's added to my enjoyment.

But it can be tiring, for every show you see, there's another couple of hours work that involves setting up the press access, critically watching the show, getting to each show and then of course the write up. The write up alone takes me usually somewhere between 1 and 3 hours work depending on the show. And all that on top of a full-time job! So while I'm only on show 20 today, it's definitely dominating August.

And that's just my side of it - my editor then has the job of sorting through everyone's reviews, editing them where necessary and getting them online, in addition to his own review schedule. He's doing one hell of a job!

I saw this fantastic dress in the window of a bridal shop on Broughton Street in Edinburgh today. While I'm not entirely sure I'm ready to model this little number quite yet - I do love the elegance of it against the reflection of the lovely buildings across the road. I'm confident it's not meant to be worn, but if it were, it'd definitely be for either those of us married to the fringe for the month - be it performer or critic, or those who fanatically love the festivals.

Tonight I'm seeing:

20. Miss Julie. A naturalistic play about longing and class. Review here!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.