Behind the curve

By cassegw

Timewarp

Within the multitude of excellent exhibitions at the Summerhall Festival 2014 I found myself in the basement of the main building playing pinball in the FAILE Bast Deluxx Fluxx Arcade. It was brilliant, with a change in music, whiff of Embassy Regal and a few Watney Red Barrel beer rings on the glass of the game I could have been back to the late 1970’s.

Comprised of unique custom-designed pinball machines, custom-programmed video games, and “psychedelic foosball” tables, the project comments on "the art world’s fixation on ideas of relational aesthetics and democratization."

The intention by Faile and Bast is to give the audience a chance to genuinely engage with their work without the frills or pressure of the traditional gallery environment and I can assure you they succeeded for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.