Take a Minute

I've been having a great time taking pictures at the beach. Two mornings in a row equals a good habit in the works. My favorite time at the amusement park is before it opens, before the crowds come, when there are all those colors and shapes to play with, without the intrusion of people. On the sand it's low tide right now; many different birds are congregating at the river mouth to feed and there are interesting crumpled objects washed up on the shore. And it smells good too, and the sound of the surf is magical and healing. How is it that I forget all this and stay away for weeks?



As I walked, though, I said a prayer for my childhood friend, Linda, who passed away in December, but I didn't find out til yesterday. Although our paths parted as teenagers, we were inseparable as kids, in and out of each others houses and families. After I dreamt about her the other night, so vividly, I'd hoped to talk to her again, but I didn't count on getting an obit when I googled her name. Though I always made it a point to look her up when I went back east, the last time was ten years ago, maybe more. She was young, or she was my age, depending on how you want to see that, but either way she left too soon.




Hipstamatic: John S lens. Ina's 69 film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.