Late 20s early 80s

Two of my favorite photos of sisters in law, My grandmother Nora and my great Aunt Abbie, my grandfather's sister. Both photographs were taken here, one circa 1919 is on the front steps. It shows young Nora on the left with Abbie in a hat she probably crafted in millenary school. The smaller photo I took in the early 70s, by the beach roses on the side of the house. I was teaching in northern Maine, 5 hours from here. We started the school year in mid August due to the Aroostock County potato harvest in September when we were off for 3 weeks. I drove down from Van Buren with three teacher friends to visit with my parents and grandmother who were here on vacation in Machiasport. In the 70s photo, they are wearing such similar dresses, Nora is on the right in that shot. Abbie died in 1987 at 97, Nora in 1989 at 96. Two of my favorite people in the world, very present here in 2014.

We spent the day doing the end of vacation tidy up and packing. The car is packed, Raspberry is nervous and we are trying to pretend this isn't our last night. We plan to leave around 7 AM tomorrow.

The town is filling up with folks for the 36th annual Blue Festival. The town is full of trucks hauling blueberries to the processing plant and then the empty boxes back to the barrens to be filled again.

Tidal marsh in Machiasport.


For the Record,
This day came in foggy with rain beginning in the late afternoon. It's almost 10 PM now and a flash flood warning has just been announced for southern Maine. I hope the rain showers move through in a way that allows us to miss the worst tomorrow on our 7 hour drive home.

All hands healthy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.