An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Out of Town Shopping

Saturday 9th August

After the damp fireworks (hot Blip yesterday, though!) down in Bournemouth, almost all of Saturday was spent waiting for the poor plucky Nikon to emerge from its coma.

Bearing in mind the stupidly ridiculous walking I've endured, due to missing buses (and even when not missing buses!) last week, it was just a 5 minute stroll, at a local out-of-town shopping and trading estate.

The supermarket here, which is by far the biggest store here closes at a ridiculously early time, at least compared to the competition and so, at dusk, there is not a single car in the car-park. Many of the other retailers have gone into liquidation.

I find it quite fascinating and have Blipped from here before. No bus, as far as I know, has ever pulled up at this bus stop and the only thing I've ever seen sitting on these seats has been my rucksack and tripod bag. The road, in fact, only services delivery vehicles to the back of the shops.

This looked good in colour. A streetlamp behind me cast a quite pleasant orange hue over the foreground while the distant sky was a lovely deep blue.

So, why the black and white? Well, I have done quite a few colour Blips of late, very colourful but also, mainly, as I could see the potential for a decent mono. It is now like shots I've seen of U.S. Malls and such in Sunday supplements, by trendy photographers and so suburban Salisbury now (perhaps?) becomes something much larger and more intriguing. Not sure that Waitrose UK would appreciate it as much, though!

Lens is Tamron SP 17-50mm f2.8

I'm off by train to Bath today. For a bit of culture. It's Bath Folk Festival right now plus I'm going to see some exhibitions, particularly Lasting Impressions at the Victoria Gallery, which, for my sins. I've never ever set foot inside before. A Blip Bath (or the other way round, even) in due course, obviously! I'm also going to concentrate on street photography rather than my usual total concentration on the rather wonderful architecture.

Catch you all later, folks!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.