Henry Gray

By Gustavo

Triathletes.

After committing to this triathlon months ago, and committing to training for the triathlon days ago, the weekend was here.
We drove north in the rain on Saturday, cresting over hills were the clouds were so low that you could see only a few feet in front of you. But by Sunday morning the sun was out and the atmosphere was electric. The guys and I had a great time, despite being amongst the least prepared and feeling severely intimidated at the start line.
My best achievements were not having the slowest transition time (there was one of the "super-veterans" who was slower), and managing to overtake (veteran) competitors in both the bike and the run section.
My less impressive achievements were in sprinting the first 50m of the 1.5km swim to "get ahead of the crowd", which only led to being gradually and inevitably sucked in by swimmer after swimmer splashing past me on the inside, and managing to drop my water bottle on lap 1 of the 42km cycle and having to jog back for it, past all the cyclists overtaking me in the opposite direction.
Very please with achieving my personal best time though! (Irrelevant that this is my only triathlon time to date...
Having invested in a tri-suit, wet-suit and racing bike the onus is probably on me to do another one sometime soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.