Saturday Morning on the Rail Trail

Every other Saturday morning usually means one must-do chore - taking the household rubbish and recyclables to the Birdlings Flat transfer station.

It's far from glamorous, but it's always a trip that I look forward too; either its a chance to catch up with the neighbours or it's a chance to extend the drive a little and head out on the look for blipportunies.

Today was the latter - after saying hi to Terry (neighbour and operator of the compactor truck) I headed back towards home knowing that the views and light at Stony Point were worth a stop.

Just before I pulled in off the road, I noticed a couple of White Faced Herons sitting on the rails of this bridge. I fired off a couple of shots as I was walking into position, but the skitty waders soon took off as I got too close for comfort, off to join the throng of Spoonbills out towards the lake shore.

As I was framing the last of my shots I heard a "Ding Ding" behind me. I turned around to see a young boy (I'm guessing about four years old) on his bike, having ridden ahead of his family. After offering a quick apology for blocking his way, the keen young cyclist carried on over the bridge, soon followed by his family, still chuckling after having witnessed the brief impasse in front...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.