More Nonsense

So, the new tyres finally got fitted. What a difference! Effortless cycling!
So, later it was out down the Book Festival again to see Tom Devine. What a huge head he has. And it's full of facts which spill effortlessly from him. He was introduced by the no less celebrated Owen Dudley Edwards - though by his demeanour, I think the only thing he spills these days is beer down his pullover. A fresh look at the Darien 'disaster' - a fair bit of the historiography of the whole thing. My brain was full of factoids 35 minutes in. I had no room for any more.
Though I did have room for some glasses of red wine afterwards with Mr & MsW and MrT. The great Sir Tom sat at the neighbouring table. I quite fancy becoming a famous historian myself. Can't be that difficult once you've read a book or two. Bit of the old googling for new stuff. Well, new old stuff to be precise. I may fall down there. On the precision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.