Dougthehat

By Dougthehat

I Knew This Would Happen!

Further to yesterdays chat, about me having skippered a mackerel fishing boat for nine years, I was in Lyme Regis this morning, distributing booklets to publicise the Bridport Open Studios weekend next weekend, and I ended up in the harbour area, which I know will always produce a good photograph for me
Today was no exception, and here it is, a beautiful wooden racing Gig, tied up across the corner of the harbour. She is called Integrite, French name, 38 foot long, Bantry Bay gig, I have copied some info here:
The Bantry Bay gigs are elegant wooden replicas of the late 18th century longboats and are based on an original gig left behind in Bantry Bay, Ireland by the invading French fleet of 1796.
There we are a good Blip, with a good history for today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.