LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Pirates of the Coffee Table

Decided on something playful again tonight. The very tiny bottle of Glengoyne came from one of Jen's staff who had been up to Skye on Monday (and was responsible for the bump on the head on Tuesady).

Discovered that the hard drive constantly whirring on the PC is due to AVG anti-virus' doing its caching. Not sure why it has to do it again, though I did have the PC totally powered down to be inside it a few days ago which is probably when this started. AVG's advice is to leave the PC on for 10-15 hours till it's finished. There's environmentaly friendly advice, not!

Can I make it not cache, thus saving 15 hours of leccy?

'No you can't, it makes your future virus checks quicker to perform.'

But I don't care about quicker virus checks in the future, I care about being able to use my PC without it taking ages to do anything because of your caching. Plus it's already done it once, all I did was take the plug out of the wall, I'm sure even the deadliest virus in the world can't infect my PC when the plug isn't even in the wall?

'It's a new feature, we're quite proud of it, no you can't stop it. If you even try you will be locked in an endless battle to prevent the undocumented, unlisted secret ninja virus catching application from launching its almighty anti-virus-cache-master-death-combo move'.

Still, today all is well. Tomorrow I might even let Jen plug her iPhone-of-Death back into the PC after reading all of the caveats on the Apple website, including to unplug all other USB devices, which sounds a bit drastic! Though I do have two USB powered external hard drives so the extra drain of the iPhone trying to charge might be causing problems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.