Big boat

As we had to go shopping at Ocean Terminal this morning, and neither of us much likes shopping, we consoled ourselves by looking for a blip in the vicinity. And it's official. I'm a complete sucker for big boats.

The rest of the day - once the shopping was complete (and this was particularly painful shopping as we were both procuring outfits for an event in early September of which more anon) - was spent pottering around at home. I know there are those exciting Festival things going on up in Edinburgh that seem to keep many blippers occupied, but to be honest, I'm often just as happy pottering around at home trying to catch up on things that have been neglected over the past couple of years whilst I've been drowning on work.

Take, for example, the scanning project. Now there are a number of elements to this. There are my physical photos from earlier family life dating back to when I was young, but also charting the early life of my son. Some of these might get blipped at some point if I can figure out (approximately) what date some of them were taken on. We started scanning these a few years ago, but to be honest the new scanner is so much better than the previous one (which I disposed of via Freecycle last week) that I think I will rescan the whole lot, even though that will be a bit painful. There are also older family photos acquired from my mother and father at various stages, some of which are in glass negative and slide form - but we now have the technology to deal with this. I can figure out some of these, but not others.

The plan is to get everything scanned and then use an 'organiser' (probably Photoshop Elements) to try and organise them into some sort of 'order', without worrying about putting them in separate folders and that sort of thing. I'm always a bit worried about tying myself to commercial software like that, but hopefully it should work ... fingers crossed.

Check back here in a few months time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.