The Chalice, Cathedral Square

Before I venture into today's write up, I just want to express my thanks to all who commented, rated and faved my two year anniversary blip yesterday. The response was quite humbling and just goes to show what an amazing, supportive community blipfoto is. Thank you, one and all!

Today's shot features a detail from the Chalice by Neil Dawson, which stands in Cathedral Square. Whilst controversial at the time of its unveiling, it's constancy in the turmoil that has been post-quake Cathedral Square is something I think which has been needed. It stands like a beacon, proud and resilient, and personally I think it's a great piece of sculpture.

I ventured into the square today as we've had friends down from Auckland this weekend. They haven't been down for three years, so as you can imagine, there's been a bit of change locally since the dark months after February 22, 2011 that was available for them to see.

The square remains quite sad I reckon, but with bright blue skies above, warm temperatures and the sound of construction all around, how can you not be optimistic for the future....? Fingers crossed....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.