West End Craft Fair

This ferocious lion, from one of the stalls in the Craft Fair, is extraordinary - turns out it is made of tiny beads (look in large for detail).

Opposite, on the stall itself, was a similar-sized head of a Highland Cow, complete with hairy face - amazing work, so I asked the stallholder if he'd mind if I took a photo; I was told to pay £1 to do so. Even when I said I'd put it on this journal, giving him free publicity, he insisted on the charge.

I understand when crafters refuse to allow photographs, fearing their designs may be copied and sold in competition, but it is hardly likely that anyone would wish to copy the intricate and laborious process to copy these life-sized pieces, I was merely expressing admiration for the work (and hoping for an interesting blip).

I'd already taken this one of the lion from the steps before seeing the stall, so I left it at that. But he made me feel like a cheapskate all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.