Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

OLD with a splash of NEW

Old with a splash of new...

This old church is nestled amongst several newer buildings in the downtown area. It is so very old and a one of a kind structure, yet everything around it is new. Old masonry and moss growing along the edges of the building. Wires and telephones lines stretching every which way around it. Gorgeous old trees within its property lines with parking meters perched out front.

Old with a splash of new.....

Today I had the opportunity to spend the afternoon with my Mom, just the two of us. She was in town with a friend and had the day free to spend with just me. Usually we are all together as a big family but today, we had some quality Mother/Daughter time. We sipped coffees and had time to talk about everything under the sun. My Mom is my everything and today, I was happy to have a few hours with just her. (She actually spotted this church first and suggested that it might be blip worthy).

Our goal for the afternoon: Consignment Shopping.

My Mom and I love to consignment shop. We love digging through old stuff. We love the good deals. We love the sense of being environmentally friendly and recycling some of the old instead of always buying new. Some of it is vintage, all of it is just gently used, and when the stars all line up and the luck is in our favor, some of it becomes the score of a lifetime. Today, I had the score of a lifetime. I had my moment of magic in the form of "fancy jeans". I scored my designer jeans that I wouldn't dream of paying full price for in Nordstrom, for a fraction of the price. Perfect condition. Perfect fit...and I mean perfect! The perfect jean for me. So perfect in fact, that I had to wear them out of the store. Call it what you may, but in mind, if I walk out of the store wearing my newly purchased find....then I have found true love, clothes style!

Old with a splash of new....

This evening, our family was invited to an engagement party. A wonderful circle of friends who we haven't seen in quite some time. A relaxed environment, warm welcoming smiles, an engaged couple completely and truly in love. It was so nice to catch up with our old friends and spend time getting to know new ones. Tonight is the first time that I have had a chance to spend some quality time with our friend's new fiance. And let me tell you this, she is a delight!! A new friend. Someone with a spunky and fresh attitude. A happy smile and lots of laughter. A great new girl who has captured the heart of our old friend. A nice evening to celebrate with friends who mean so much to us.

Old with a splash of new.

Today was a day filled with OLD and sprinkled with splashes of NEW. A day of togetherness. A day of celebration. And a day for FANCY JEANS!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.