Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Burning down the highway

Couldn't resist getting Callum a big boy bike on the way home from summer camp. The boys are constantly cycling around the house in the big speedway on account of a very open plan house. And the rest of the time he's on his scooter. A few turns of these wheels and we'll get the stabilizers off though it's definitely one for him to grow into.

And now it's my turn to get a new bike. It's been a decade since the days we'd ride around Richmond Park every weekend upon rising. My exercise regime is somewhat non existent now and I really need some general fitness to keep up with the demands of photographing events. As strange as that might sound, it's exhausting for me shooting for 11 hours carrying several kilos of gear on my person, running or driving between locations, irrespective of the mental exertion which I always feel when shooting. My fingers can do their thing without any conscious effort by me seemingly and in fact, if I were to pull back my camera as I showed a friend recently and look at what I'm doing on settings, it's very non intuitive for me and slows me down greatly. Yet mentally, the physics, as I believe the art form is, of gentle shifts to the left or right in a split second for a more interesting composition or the more aggressive moves of running around the subject, keep me both highly invested in the art and exerted. And for that and middle age, I just have to get fit.

Somewhat like my own burning down the highway, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.