todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

The mighty Ton...!

I made my first visit of the football season to Cappielow Park this evening, home of Greenock Morton. Or, the Mighty Ton as they're affectionately known.

My dear work chum was the referee for the evening so I watched on through my hands at times. Gosh, it's a thankless task being a ref - damned if you do, damned if you don't. Good job he's got a thick skin.

It turned in to a thrilling 5-2 win for Morton, with the home side's final three goals coming in extra time. Those fans who left after 90 minutes, when the score was 2-2, will be kicking themselves.

It's never over till the guy with the whistle says so.

I love everything about this experience - the punters; the banter; listening to the gaffer shout from the dug out; watching the subs warming up and trying to second guess who's coming on; the coffee; the pies.... All that entertainment, never mind the action on the pitch!

And if they settle themselves, this young team can play some really nice football.

It might just be a good season. C'mon the Ton!

Today outof10? A rousing 9 ❤️

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.