Canine Busking (with accompaniment)

There is an autumnal feel to the mornings right now. My ride in today necessitated gloves and there was such a heavy dew that my feet got soaked in a short traipse down a track to take a few landscapes. I originally posted this shot - in which you can see where Monday's blip was taken from. The light was once again really beautiful and I'm guessing those fields of wheat won't be around for too much longer.

But I changed it. For the journal, this shot holds far more personal meaning. And for the photography, I want to record an on-going experiment with colour. I'm playing with techniques at the moment, trying to give colour street photos the punch that you seem to get with black and white but without over saturating the colour. I rather like the way this has turned out. I've got to know Sian and Jaz here quite well. And their dogs ... who gave me a very enthusiastic welcome. It looks like they are performing and collecting too!

A lot of weird things going on with the software today. A service stopped working and for the life of me I cannot get to the bottom of why. When I started this lark I used to write in assembly language, hitting the metal so to speak. I virtually programmed the very processor itself. It was direct and immediate. If there was a problem it was a problem with my code. As simple as that. There was nowhere else to look. It wasn't easy to debug things but the problem was always clearly delineated.

Now I write in high level languages and the type of processor is entirely irrelevant to what I do. That complexity is hidden away. You'd think it would be easier to write software today but it actually isn't all. There are so many other considerations, especially when everything is running over the internet, just so many third-party bits and pieces involved with the possibility of failing. It's a miracle really that it all generally works so smoothly, but when something does go wrong it can be the very devil to diagnose the source of the problem. I'm losing my patience for this kind of thing. Even my ride home (with neither wind nor rain) failed to put me in a better frame of mind. I dearly wish I was in a position to retire!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.