Nod

Today maybe wasn't the best day to pick to try the commute into work on my new bike, but a misplaced bus pass forced me into it. It was pretty dreich when I headed in and given that it was my first time cycling in the wet on proper road bike tyres I took it very easy, taking about an hour to do the nine or ten miles or so to town. It handled it all ok though.

Another busy day at work making powerpoint presentations and prepping stuff for the students arriving next week. We also had a big team meeting to follow the day. Not much in the way of photo ops but I did catch Neil putting up shelves for the DVDs in the study centre, so grabbed a quick photo there.

At least when I headed home it wasn't drizzly any more.....

It was absolutely bucketing down. Still it wasn't too bad. I tried a different route home and cut down Marine Drive and along the shore, before cutting back up to the old Crammond Bridge. There's talk again of reinstating a chain ferry down at Crammond Shore and if they do that the cycle to and from work will be a doddle, but until that point I won't be making a habit of taking that route as there were some stretches between the shore and the bridge which would have been fine on a mountain bike, but were pretty sketchy on road slicks, especially with SPD pedals, I thought I was going to come off a few times.

When I got home I had a big bowl of Roz's home made Chili then a long soak in the bath, and ended up passing out for an hour. I must have needed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.