Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Not a Red Eft...

Nope, this isn't a red eft (a young spotted salamander), even though I was all set to blip one. On my walk this morning, there were red efts all over the trail - we probably saw 100 of them easily. And I, of course, took a gazillion shots. All but one of which vaporized when I was downloading the card to my computer! Crap! Of about 70 pics I took, 7 downloaded and the rest are just ... gone. Poof. Really irritating.

Fortunately, just when I felt like throwing the computer through the window, I happened to notice this little chipmunk trying to look like part of the sunflower. He was so cute that my snit immediately subsided and I happily clicked off a handful of shot of the cheeky little scamp. I'm always pretty happy when I can get a chipmunk. Here's another shot of him Trying to look all innocent. Notice how in both shots, his cheek pouches are all full ... of sunflower seeds!

Before I left to meet my walking group, I saw my fuzzy black "friend" in the yard again. Apparently he hasn't moved along after all. Which is unfortunate. On a happier note, the hummers are all still busy guarding the yard, frequently disguised as leaves on the cherry tree. It's hilarious to suddenly see a "leaf" launch itself out of the tree in hot pursuit of another hummer.

Great dinner last night with my friend Lynn, and in a few hours Peggy and Kura will arrive for a weekend of friendship and fun and wine!

Happy Friday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.