The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Second cousins

...here they are, feeding the chickens at the farm shop. The chickens have rushed to the back of the pen, on account of Jezzie's enthusiastic broadcasting over the fence. Although it's just a snapshot, it does say something about their characters: Jezreel (top, my niece) is the extrovert and risk taker, while her second cousin Zina (my first cousins once removed!) in the blue dress, is more analytical and apt to weigh up the consequences of actions.

They are both staying the night with us, while Zina's mum tries to recover from house-moving with a slipped disc, and my sister Kate is still in her working week. We are taking them to see the Tall Ships on the canal tomorrow, as they head away from Gloucester Docks down to the river Severn, and the sea. That is, if we can get them up in time! Jezreel (7) said this evening
"I"m not one for waking early, me".

Reminds me of when her brother Natty said, after a long walk, when he was all of 4 years old,
"I"m not knackered but I'm a bit puffed out".

Out of the mouths....

I am quite tired now, having only had the girls for about six hours so far! After returning from the playground. Jezzie requested gardening activities, and planted some bulbs, while Zina played giant Jenga. Then they both had a snack, and they watched Wallace and Gromit while I did the supper, then we all ate, then Zina nearly choked on a bean-string, and I comforted her, then I detangled both their hair(s), and then they went to bed with their loom-band-kit, mountains of teddies and piles of books! Now is the moment for pouring myself a stiff brandy. Hats off to those people who do this every day. I have always wondered how they manage. Of course it would be much more intense if they were both babies, or toddlers, or in the terrible tantrums stage: I've been there, done that, got the auntie and nanny* t-shirt! Next time they are both together under my roof, they'll probably be discussing boys and make up, so the trick is to enjoy every step of the way.

My sister Kate and nephew Natty will be with us tomorrow night, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.