Scribbler

By scribbler

Cinderella

Thanks to my fairy godmother, I have managed to post 500 blips in 500 days.

Here are two stories from my childhood, one from Dr. Seuss and the other a French version of a fairy tale. When people learn to write poetry, they often find rhyme a cinch but stumble on meter. Perhaps I owe it to Dr. Seuss for teaching me the rhythm of language at an early age. This book was published before I was born. It's not my favorite Dr. Seuss, though, because it's in prose. (The Bourgeois Gentilhomme would be impressed, but I am not.) His drawings are delightful also.

In junior high French class, I played one of the wicked stepsisters in Cendrillon, which is the French name for Cinderella. One of my lines was "Dépêches-toi, nous somme pressées!" I can't believe I remember that. A sign of creeping senility, perhaps? Another 500 blips may reveal the truth.

I feel as though I've made some lovely friends since April 2013 on Blipfoto. Thank you for going along for the ride with me. Hopefully our carriage won't turn into a pumpkin and our glass slippers will always fit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.