horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Zigged when I should have Zagged

I've worked out, finally, why people drive to work. It's because if they cycled they would enjoy the commute so much they wouldn't want to go to work. Seriously, I realised this morning, after a lovely ride in on a smooth-running recently-serviced clean machine that I was about to spoil the trip entirely by it terminating in an office, desk and computer screen filled with turgid business speak.

Or maybe I'm so grouchy cos Mel is off today.

No. No. On second thoughts it's definitely the work aspect.

I'd actually got away early, as I normally do when it's just me heading out - I don't bother with the breakfast news or anything, just eat and go - with a plan to stop for a coffee on the way in. This was scuppered when I realised I'd left my lock at work. So I arrived at work half an hour early and was stood at the door pondering whether to go back out for a wee ride when a colleague saw me and thought I didn't have my keys to get in so obligingly opened the door. Would have been rude by that point to cycle off...

Still, rudeness was the order of the day at the usual Monday work lunch thing, as another colleague did her best to cement the reputation of English folk in Scotland as arrogant folk who see Scotland as some sort of backwater or tartan theme park. Tis the same lassie who a while back claimed good fish and chips weren't to be had in Scotland (can't remember when that particular bliprant appeared...) and who punctuates the end of every sentence with a laugh that would suggest she's the funniest thing since Del Boy fell through the wine bar counter, whereas she's closer to Herr Flick in Allo Allo.

Or something.

p.s. how many public competition dancing show things do you think the television viewers can actually take in one year?

p.p.s. the title above comes from a history teacher who I had in secondary school who explained that Harold was hit by the arrow because he zigged when his page said to zag...

p.p.p.s. I may change this shot later today - not sure about it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.