The Way I See Things

By JDO

Hibiscus

Our garden in London was graced by the presence of a huge blue hibiscus, which flowered riotously all summer long. Shortly after we came here I planted one expecting similar results, but I have since learned two things:
1. Hibiscus prefers the warm, gritty soil of Wandsworth to the cold clay of Worcestershire - 14 years on it's almost exactly the same size as it was when I planted it, and whatever they tell you about them not being pH-fussy, I see no sign in these slightly yellow leaves that this shrub appreciates lime;
2. The fact that the garden centre label claims it's a 'Blue Bird' doesn't necessarily mean it is. Sadly it took it about 5 years to produce its first flower, which was rather late for me to go looking for the receipt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.