PeterMay

By PeterMay

No Connection

The first flight of 15 in the next 28 days was uneventful enough - except that the seats were so hard I had lost all feeling in my nether regions by the time we were only halfway through. Jet2 is not my favourite airline - but they are the only ones that flight direct from Toulouse to Edinburgh.

Contrary to all forecasts, the weather in Edinburgh was sunny and dry, fresh but not cold. We wandered early evening along to Haymarket to eat in our favourite Chinese restaurant outside of China - Chop Chop. As always, the food was wonderful. The problem came when we tried to pay the bill. The waitress couldn't get the credit card machine to connect. She wandered about the restaurant holding it above her head - to the window, without luck, then to the back corner, all under the instruction of the maitre d'. In the end he took it himself and stood waving it around, all to no avail, and I gave up and walked down the road to a hole in the wall to retrieve some cash. I left Janice as surety, and it occurred to me if ever I were to leave her this would be the moment - she would have a good home, and great food for the rest of her days. But since I have never had any desire to do a runner, I returned with the cash, and we wandered back through the cool of the evening to have an early night, and brace ourselves for a hectic day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.