Mono Monday...Recycling

In the last 2 afternoons, I loaded up my little truck with scrap metal from our house. I was going to take a metal run.

Less than 2 miles from our house, there is a final resting place for automobiles. But, they also take almost any form of scrap metal. Another company picks it up with a huge magnet, still another company separates the different types of metals, and then it ends up being recycled into new cars.

Just think. My old closet doors in the foreground of the scrap mountain...could be your car door, or your muffler.

In case you were wondering...how much money did he get? My load weighed 260 pounds, and they were waiting for me at the exit with 18 dollars. That works out to 7 cents a pound. Not exactly big cash for trash...but at least it's not sitting behind my garage anymore.

Notice the guy in the lower left. His job is to pick out anything that might be "valuable." It wasn't a good day for his job. Full sun, and very humid, with the temperature at 88F (29C.)

Thrown out of my truck,
and into the pile.
Making my trip...
very worthwhile.

Gotta go. (I've got 18 bucks to spend!) WOO-HOO!

Thanks to WetcoastBob for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.