LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"You're as cold as ice, cold as ice, I know"

My cousin Kathryn challenged me to do the Ice Bucket Challenge to raise awareness of Motor Neurone Disease. So I rose to the challenge. I went to the local pub and got a big bin bag full of ice. I found the biggest container that I could and filled it so much that I had to get my mam and my day to help lift it as it was too heavy for me. The idea behind the challenge is that the sensation of the ice water mimics the symptoms that MND feel every day. The tightening of muscles and the muscles going weak. The shortness and gasping for breath. It is a horrible and terrifying disease with no cure. The money raised though donations will go towards drug research and clinical care for those with the disease. So it is a very worthwhile fundraising initiative and has raise an extraordinary amount of funds already, so I am happy to participate and nominate and continue on the challenge. You can see my ice bucket challenge here on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDXEfVzQbuY&feature=youtu.be or here on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/Lovetoroam And you can of course find your local MND or ALS charity and donate via text.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.