littorality,Linn Gardens

Such a glorious sunny day that I hopped over to Linn Gardens in Cove late in the afternoon.  This is an astonishing jungle of ovegrown exotic plants, not unusually I had it entirely to myself.  A young botanist who was set to inherit its care from his wildman father disappeared on a plant-hunting expedition to Vietnam last December .  Somehow I've always felt there might be more story behind his disappearance (there almost always is).  Searching for a decent link that shows both father and son I came across this clipping.  At one point this afternoon, wading through thick undergrowth, I was suddenly assailed by grief.  Such beauty and such sorrow.

As the light began to fade I sat for an hour by a pond choked by vegetation after the long dry summer.  And communed with the camera.  I came to understand that it was almost desperately trying to focus on the real, the solid, the fixed.  And I was asking it to help me find the edges, the spaces between, the movement where it sometimes lets me see the zone where magic happens, the worlds within worlds.  You could hear its little autofocus mechanism nearly having a nervous breakdown trying to find something substantial to focus on.  It won't last long at this rate.

I told it my interest was in LITTORALITY - not even certain that was a word.  Lo and behold it is!  Eventually we both relaxed and came to an accommodation, hard not to amidst such perfect peace and beauty.

More world BIGGA.


#One other thing: I've put a set of the images elsewhere.  I'm thrilled with them :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.