Tarawera Times

By Megl

A Bellbird...finally

Thought this morning my Blip would be the backlight water sprinkler in the garden pond, it was such a beautiful morning and I was very happy with what I had got.

But as I was about to go inside, I spotted a bellbird drinking nectar from the Kaka Beak bush just beside the door. I have never got a decent shot before but with my camera already in my hand I managed to get about 6 shots before he flew off.

I was so excited as normally you only hear the bellbird, they are small birds yet have the most beautiful song which is surprisingly loud for the size of it. Their green colouring means they blend into the bush and are very hard to spot. Have just googled bellbird and decided that this is a male bird.

What a delight, sorry couldn't choose between them so made a triptych. Seems like I am becoming a bit "birdie" with two in a row, but just couldn't not blip this.

Spent more time in the garden again, and have broken the back of the job, and just about broken myself!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.