AJC

By AJC

Lavender On White

I like this shot. Here's why: I had an image in my mind that I set out to create, and I (almost) achieved it.

It all started about a year ago when I saw a female portrait that was circulating at the time (I can't find it now or remember the photographer, but it stuck in my mind). White background, over exposed, washed out feel. But effective. Atmospheric. Then it kicked off again recently when Lawrie posted this shot of an Agapanthus. Then Sue posted this shot of lavender, followed by Pokeybagel's seal, etc, etc. You get the picture.

The recipe is simple. Plain white sheet of printer paper, poke the stalk through it. Diffused natural lighting, slightly over exposed. And then I added a white vignette in Photoshop. That sounds daft, but it does improve the image and gives you a lot of control over the final feel.

So what's not to like? Well I'm happy with this shot overall but I don't think the composition is quite right. Having said that, I'm not sure how to improve it - what do you think?

LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.