Keith B

By keibr

It had to happen...

After seeing lots of the family dump buckets of water over themselves and film it for Facebook it was only a matter of time before someone got round to "nominating" Janet and I.
This "challenge" to throw a bucket of cold water over oneself or each other brings mixed feelings. One the one hand money goes to a charity (+) and it's fun to do (+), but on the other hand there's a certain group pressure (-), a feeling you have to do it now someone has demanded it of you (-).
My way out of the conundrum was to do it but not to nominate any other specific person. This is what I do when good causes pop up in my e-post and ask for my signature, and/or some money. If it's something I consider a good cause I happily provide them with what they want but I never (OK, hardly ever) send the request on to all my contacts at Facebook or Twitter. If the cause is THAT good my friends will hear about it anyway and can decide for themselves.
Anyway, after that slight rant, I have to say it was fun to get doused in cold water early on a sunny if cold morning, really very invigorating. Maybe I'll do it again tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.