Aurora Australis from Kaitorete Spit

Such a treat to go out aurora hunting with Horomaka tonight. After his really successful blip last night I jumped at his suggestions that we might go out to the sand dunes at Kaitorete Spit tonight. It was a beautifully clear starry night, except for the low bank of cloud on the horizon, but somehow I like the definition that the cloud has given to the image. There's green in the aurora, which didn't appear in my aurora pic from Kenepuru Sound in February. It's not common to see the aurora in New Zealand, so it's a thrill when the activity is high enough, like tonight.

Thank you so much for sending my Paddling to Little Port Cooper into the Spotlight yesterday! I was really chuffed that that happened. It's not easy taking photos from a kayak. Either a wave happens at the wrong moment, or your glove stops the shutter working - and the composition changes so quickly. This one worked well for me and I'm delighted that so many of you liked it. Thanks again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.