Toots in Solitude

By Toots

Granton

So, it went like this:
I awoke and thought there are a few things to do today but I also may get on a 47 bus and head on down to Granton Harbour just to lookee see what it's all about with that Pensioner chappie.
So, I dillied and I dallied, did this and did that and then thought I would head out towards that bus.
Eventually I got to the bus stop and a very long wait later hopped aboard.
The sun was still shining with a smile.
It was a slow journey but the vicinity grew closer. As did the clouds.
I alighted the bus and the rain alighted the clouds. My thin blouse and trousers were soon soakit through. My hair formed rats tails dripping with the rain drops.
It didn't look too clear except away in the Fife direction.
I reckied the vista noting a long harbour wall which would make a splendid walk. I tucked this away in my mind as a future date.
I went to the bus stop for home as it was already rather late in the afternoon and the rain was not abating.
I boarded the single decker 38 bus, the only passenger and with clothes that clung in a very wet fashion to my body, my hair still dripping.
This bus route was a new venture for me and as soon as I stepped onto the bus the sun came out in a very friendly way.
What a sociable little bus it was too. We called in at the Western General, which is always handy if you don't feel well and then we picked up batches of red tartan skirted girls (who all looked very serious) as we passed their school. We then proceeded to Sainsburys in Craigleith which many moons ago was my frequent place to shop and when, I ask myself, did all those other stores come into being. It's a whole shopping centre in it's own right, I never knew that!!
So, this mystery tour passed through from one class of living to another and eventually I got off at Grays Loan, just in time to get another soaking as I wended my way along the streets to home. Of course, as soon as I got in out came that sun again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.