Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Silver darlings

A late night as a friend brought her friends for supper and it was such a good evening with wide-ranging conversation. They are from London, doing very well, have never had to see the effects of the recession, never mind how it continues in the north, and think very differently from us on political and social issues, but they were great company. It is stimulating to meet different people, and I enjoyed cooking for them. Here is our starter of rye bread, soused herrings (silver darlings) on top of beetroot with slivers of pickled ginger on top. Mr C provided the rocket from the garden and I made a horseradish and yogurt dressing. Our main course was chicken with brown rice, red and yellow peppers, chorizo, onion, sundried tomatoes, olives and a bit of orange cooked in stock and red wine. Pudding was the Blackcurrent Parfait I made with our glut. After the G & Ts, white wine and red wine we hit the Islay malts so I'm surprised I'm able to post this!

Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.