Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

making the fence.........

This morning the guys who work in my garden were making a fence to surround the pit. You know in Malawi we don't have rubbish collections, we just dig a pit and bury our rubbish or some people burn it, or some people just dump it anywhere!! Anyway, I have two pits - one for compost and one for other rubbish - just like the lovely bins people have in other parts of the world. The biggest problem is the pied crows who love to snatch any rubbish and take it out of the pit again.

The pit that I had was full so it has been filled in and another one was dug a few weeks ago - it is really deep though and I was worried because so many children come to play in my garden. So today we made a fence around it. The fence is in the background here and the gate is being made in this shot - it is being made of recycled reeds which were rotten at the bottom so the guy is cutting the bottom part of with a small blade! Took ages but they made a really good job of it and now I have more peace of mind that the kids will be safe!!

A busy weekend as it is the Synod Assembly of our church and so I will be back and forward to Ekwendeni to join in some of the debates!!

Happy weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.