Snow Down Under

By snowy

THE MIGHTY OAK:

OAK: Did you know it is the symbol for 80 years of marriage ? Well I didn't. I was astounded to see on national T. V. & to read it in the paper, a Mr & Mrs Kaye from Bournemouth in the U. K. celebrating their Oak anniversary, he 102, & she 101 ! How fantastic. And they don't look a day over 70 !

The oak on the left & silver birch on the right are the two oldest trees in my garden, which I'm told were planted in 1950. My northerly neighbour, a Mr Russell Buchanan, a retired surveyor, told me he surveyed these 2 acre sections in 1949. We bought our 2 acres in 1984, which was just a paddock, & then began to establish the garden in 1988. These 2 trees right on the boundary were the only deciduous trees here, along with masses of Douglas pines - which we cleared.
Oak is a symbol of endurance !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.