Every Day Is A holiday!

By musings

Sealions

Today we left Ganges heading to Brentwood Bay, and Todd Inlet. After weaving our way through a mine field of crab traps, we were out in open water, and I was on the outlook for orcas. I saw a grouping of boats in the distance and alerted Bob to the possibility of whale boats, at which he quickly remarked that they were just fishing. Unable to accept that, I got my trusty camera out, and used my 10X optical zoom to prove they were indeed "whale watching boats". Bob turned the boat and headed in the opposite direction...what is a few miles for orcas? Hey, let's stop and smell the roses!!!

As we approached we realized it was at least 10 vessels, loaded with excited watchers...so we joined the parade, staying our required distance and motoring in the same direction as the pod. I know this gets old for some people, but for me, I'll never get tired of watching them. When we first joined up with the group, there was spyhopping and breaching going on, along with tail slapping. Oh, if we only knew what they were saying or communicating. We followed beside them for probably 45 minutes, until we broke off and went on our way. It was as always the best!!

As we approached Brentwood Bay we came upon a buoy marker with sealions, so this is my post today. We were able to get quite close, and realized it was a perch for 2 large adults and several immature sealions. They were so interesting to see, and they were enormous! At the end they started growling...we figured it was time to leave.

Check out my other photos from today on Flickr...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.